Division of Engineering & Mathematics Faculty

Welcome to the faculty directory for the Engineering & Mathematics division. Use the links below to learn more about each faculty member’s educational background, areas of focus in instruction and research, and contact information.

Electrical Engineering

No Photo Available

Arnold Berger, Associate Professor

UWBB-225
aberger@uw.edu

Research: embedded systems, real-time system performance and debugging methods, remote lab experiments, FPGA design

Walter Charczenko

Walter Charczenko, Affiliate Assistant Professor

charcw@uw.edu

Research: RF engineering, applied electromagnetics, EMC, signal integrity, antenna design and measurements using photonic fiber optic links

Seungkeun Choi

Seungkeun Choi, Associate Professor

UWBB-228
schoi5@uw.edu

Research: organic solar cells; sensors and actuators; microelectromechanical systems

Tadesse Ghirmai, Associate Professor and Division Chair

UWBB-221
tadg@uw.edu

Research: signal processing; communications; Bayesian methods

Mahmoud Ghofrani

Mahmoud Ghofrani, Associate Professor

UWBB-227
mrani@uw.edu

Research: renewable energy systems; electric vehicles; smart electric grids

Sungwoong "Sunny" Kim

Sunwoong “Sunny” Kim, Assistant Professor

UWBB-223
sunwoong@uw.edu

Research: hardware acceleration; privacy-preserving computing

Lawrence Lam

Lawrence Lam, Associate Teaching Professor

UWBB-252
llam@uw.edu

Research: medical devices; mobile health technology; MEMS

Kaibao Nie

Kaibao Nie, Associate Teaching Professor

UWBB-224
niek@uw.edu

Research: biomedical signal processing; speech and audio processing; hearing devices

Mathematics

No Photo Available

Rejoice Akapame, Associate Professor

UW1-271N
rejoicem@uw.edu

Research: mathematics education; equity; mathematical modeling; technology use in K-16; computational thinking

Robin Angotti

Robin Angotti, Professor

DISC-352M
riderr@uw.edu

Research: mathematics education; representations

Ariana Dundon

Ariana Dundon, Associate Teaching Professor

HH-1432
adundon@uw.edu

Research: actuarial science education

Emily Gismervig

Emily Gismervig, Associate Teaching Professor

UW1-149
emilyg27@uw.edu

Research: mathematics education

Thomas Humphries

Thomas Humphries, Associate Professor

DISC-352K
thumphri@uw.edu

Research: medical imaging; optimization; inverse problems

Milagros Loreto

Milagros Loreto, Associate Professor

DISC-352N
mloreto@uw.edu

Research: numerical optimization; applied mathematics

Casey Mann

Casey Mann, Professor

DISC-352E
cemann@uw.edu

Research: discrete geometry, tilings; lattice knots; self-assembly

Jennifer McLoud-Mann

Jennifer McLoud-Mann, Interim Dean and Professor

DISC-352A
jmcloud@uw.edu

Research: knot theory; tiling theory; discrete geometry

Alexandria Musselman

Alexandria Musselman, Associate Teaching Professor

HH-1436
mussela@uw.edu

Research: mathematics education; student identity; gender studies

Clark Musselman

Clark Musselman, Associate Teaching Professor

HH-1438
musselc@uw.edu

Research: mathematical physics; applied analysis; functional analysis

Pietro Paparella

Pietro Paparella, Associate Professor

DH-452H
pietrop@uw.edu

Research: nonnegative matrix theory; geometry of polynomials; discrete geometry

Mechanical Engineering

Shima Abadi

Shima Abadi, Associate Professor

DISC-452L
abadi@uw.edu

Research: array signal processing; underwater acoustics; machine learning

John Bridge, Associate Professor

DISC-452K
jwbridge@uw.edu

Research: synthetic sports surfaces; polymer degradation; metamaterials

Sharon A. Jones

Sharon A. Jones, Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, Professor, and ASEE Fellow

Beardslee Crossing
uwbvcaa@uw.edu

Research: systems-level modeling to advance sustainability; advancing engineering ethics competency; improving diversity in STEM

Pierre Mourad, Professor

UW2-315
doumitt@uw.edu

Research: ultrasound and the brain; AR/VR for medicine and education; project-based education

No Photo Available

Wolf Yeigh, Professor

UWBX-101
yeigh@uw.edu

Research: safety and security studies

Jong Yoon, Associate Professor and ME Coordinator

DISC-452J
wjyoon@uw.edu

Research: medical devices; assistive technology; robotics