Distinguished Teaching Award

The Distinguished Teaching Award (DTA) is presented each year to a UW Bothell faculty member in recognition of teaching that richly exemplifies the high standards at the heart of the academic mission of the University of Washington Bothell. The DTA recipient receives an honorarium and is recognized at the Awards of Excellence ceremony on the Seattle campus in June. Additionally, they are traditionally the speaker at UW Bothell’s Convocation in September.

Selection process

The DTA selection committee, appointed by the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, is chaired by a previous DTA recipient and includes at least three faculty members, a current student representative and an alumni representative. The committee follows a process; after reviewing the nomination letters, the committee invites some or all nominees to submit a complete dossier of supporting materials. Based on consideration of dossiers, and criteria listed below a formal recommendation is made to the Vice Chancellor.

Criteria for selection

The award review committee will select recipients based on the degree to which they exemplify and provide evidence of:

  • An iterative, reflective teaching practice with evidence of pedagogical experimentation and refinement over time
  • Commitment to inclusive teaching and mentoring and valuing students’ experiences
  • Dedication to creating transformative learning experiences that foster deep reflection and critical inquiry
  • Service as a mentor, collaborator, and consultant on teaching-related matters to other faculty and/or teaching assistants


  • Previous winners are ineligible.
  • Recipients must be employed at UW during Spring of the award year.


Nominations for the 2024 Distinguished Teaching Award are now closed. For questions, please contact uwbvcaa@uw.edu

Please note, the DTA nomination process for the Seattle and Tacoma campuses are separate. Nominations submitted to the Seattle DTA site will not be forwarded to UW Bothell.

Past Recipients

2024 – Raissa DeSmet, School of Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences
2023 – Yusuf Pisan, School of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics
2022 – Stefanie Iverson Cabral, School of Nursing and Health Studies
2021 – Tadesse Ghirmai, School of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics
2020 – Mabel Ezeonwu, School of Nursing and Health Studies
2019 – Julie Shayne, School of Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences
2018 – Karam Dana, School of Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences
2017 – Alan Boss, School of Business
2016 – Janelle Silva, School of Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences
2015 – Wayne Au, School of Educational Studies
2014 – Ben Gardner, School of Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences
2013 – Ron Tilden, School of Business
2012 – Leslie Ashbaugh, Center for University Studies and Programs
2011 – P.V. (Sundar) Balakrishnan, School of Business
2010 – Diane Gillespie, Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences
2009 – Peter Littig, Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences
2008 – Gowri Shankar, Business
2007 – David Goldstein, Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences
2007 – Crispin Thurlow, Communication (Seattle)
2006 – Ron Krabill, Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences
2005 – Carole Kubota, Education
2004 – Alan Wood, Liberal Studies
2004 – David Allen, Nursing (Seattle)
2003 – Suzanne Sikma, Nursing
2002 – Carol Zander, Computing and Software Systems
2001 – Andrea Kovalesky, Nursing
2000 – Bruce Kochis, Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences
1999 – Kevin Laverty, Business Administration
1998 – Carol Leppa, Nursing
1997 – Cherry A. McGee Banks, Education
1996 – JoLynn Edwards, Liberal Studies
1996 – Michael Goldberg, Liberal Studies
1995 – Constantin Behler, Liberal Studies