UW Bothell Information Technologies

IT Staff Recognition

IT Staff Recognition Awards

Information Technologies is proud to offer a staff recognition program to celebrate our staff members' exemplary performance. The recognition program is designed to be fair, doable, and fun.

  • Recognize and encourage the exemplary work done by IT Staff.
  • Bind our core values to everyday IT work.
  • Document major staff accomplishments.

Award process


All regular IT Staff, including temporary staff and project appointments are eligible to receive awards. Student workers and Directors are generally ineligible, unless the IT Directors Team decides to make a specific exception.


Nominations are accepted any time throughout the year via webform: https://catalyst.uw.edu/webq/survey/shelleyj/205574

Anyone with a UW NetID may nominate IT staff for an award.

Selection Process

The Assistant Vice Chancellor for IT will officially select all award recipients. The IT Directors team will serve as the awards committee and is charged with making recommendations to the AVCIT.


The Manager of IT Services will manage the program, remind staff to submit nominations, and manage any changes to this procedure.

Types of Awards

Outstanding IT Staff Member of the Year

Recognizes one person each year for the most outstanding performance as a part of the IT team. The most outstanding IT team member each year will be the person who most consistently demonstrates our values in everything she or he does. Check out http://www.uwb.edu/it/about-it/mission for our values.

Extraordinary Service Awards

Recognizes IT staff members each year for extraordinary service (but they could also recognize one person, or nobody). These awards may be given based on the following criteria:<

  • Innovation
  • Customer Service
  • Project management
  • Service management
  • Professional development
  • Going WAY above and beyond
  • Process improvement

To be considered “extra-ordinary” on this already extraordinary team is a high standard, indeed.

Award Recognition

All awards are recognized by:

  • Recognition party at an all-IT staff meeting in the summer
  • Certificate for the recipient to keep
  • Formal letter of commendation for recipient's official file

In addition, the Outstanding Staff Member of the Year will have her or his name added to the department's Outstanding Staff Member Award winners' plaque.

Award Recipients

Outstanding Staff Member of the Year

Adrianna MacArthur - 2015
IT Services Assistant Manager

  Ian Porter - 2014
Learning Technologies Specialist


Jon Dolacky - 2013
Senior Helpdesk Coordinator

Extraordinary Service Awards


Charles Wesley - Technology Project Manager

Sara Frizelle - eLearning Specialist






Cheryl Smith - Program Coordinator IT Admin Services

Mikal Herman - Computer Support Analyst

Marc Studer - Media Producer






Russell Burns - Senior Web Developer

Salem Levesque - Digital Media Specialist